The Most Prestigious Global Award in Science The Medawar For The First Time Was Bestowed Upon a Turkish Scientist Prof. Dr. Mehmet Haberal Was Deemed Worthy


News & Events

The most prestigious global award in science, the Medawar, for the first time, was bestowed upon a Turkish scientist Prof. Dr. Mehmet Haberal, was deemed worthy

Türkiye felt proud once again.

Moreover, this award will be presented to Haberal with another first.

The 30th Congress of the World Organ Transplantation Society will be held in September, for the first time in our region, in Istanbul, hosted by Haberal.

The Medawar award will be presented to Haberal at this congress on September 25

The Transplantation Society is proud to announce the winners of “The prestigious 2024 Medawar Prize, the highest honor bestowed by the society for outstanding contributions to the field of transplantation. This year, the awards will be presented during the President's Plenary session on September 25 at our upcoming Congress in Istanbul, taking place from September 22-25”. on its official website.

The details of the award were also disclosed

The Medawar Prize, named after Society co-founder Sir Peter Medawar, is recognized as the world's highest dedicated award for the most outstanding contributions in the field of transplantation. The Medawar Prize has been awarded at each of our Society's biennial Congresses since 1990. The award recognizes the outstanding investigators whose contributions have had such a profound influence on the field of organ transplantation. The Medawar Prize is universally considered to be commensurate with the most outstanding world prizes for scientific achievement.

The following lines were included about Haberal

Prof. Mehmet Haberal - An eminent leader in the field, Prof. Haberal has pioneered kidney and liver transplantation in Türkiye and broadly across the Middle East and Central Asia. His work has established critical healthcare infrastructures and legislative frameworks that have saved thousands of lives and advanced medical practices in transplantation.

The Medawar award, given since 1990, went to pioneering figures such as Prof. Thomas Starzl, Prof. Sir Roy Calne.

Other News&Events